Who We Are

The National Council Against Smoking was founded in 1976 and has been instrumental in lobbying government for legislation to control tobacco use. In addition to this it has also played an active role in tobacco control advocacy and policy development in the SADC region, African region and globally.

Acting Executive Director

  • Dr Yussuf Saloojee

Our Board

  • Chair: Professor Angela Matthee 
  • Dr Yussuf Saloojee 
  • Professor Thea De Wet
  • Professor Neo Morojele 
  • Mr Jerry Chaka 
  • Professor Nicola Christofides